Loton Park Hill Climb awards lunch ...

Hagley Car Club, organisers of speed hill climb events at Loton Park, near Shrewsbury, held its 80th Annual Awards Presentation and Lunch at Telford Hotel, Great Hay, Telford, on Sunday.

Guest speaker for the event was Stuart Turner, former Motoring News sports editor, competitions manager for BMC and director of Ford’s race and rally programme throughout Europe, and a co-driver in most international rallies.

Also being the author of over 20 books and a motivational speaker, Stuart spoke light-heartedly of his several decades in motorsport and the characters he encountered over the years, also stressing the importance to the sport of grass roots clubs such as Hagley.

Awards were presented to drivers who had attained Fastest Time of Day over the year including 2102 British champion Trevor Willis, Graham Wynn, Jason Mourant and Chris Green. Six-times British Champion Scott Moran was unable to attend.

Nick West, in a Peugeot 106 GTi, won the Allswage Loton Park Members Championship overall with class wins for Jonathan Bibby in a Lotus Elise and Tim Higgins in a Westfield. The Ladies Award went to Lucy McFarlane.

Special awards were presented to Marshall of the Year Paul Simon with Carter Davies, of Ellesmere, receiving the Jack Bayliss Cup as Young Marshal of the Year. Rhys Jones won the Pirelli Alpine Trophy as Best Newcomer and Terry Rogers won the Unique Trophy, presented by Sir Michael Leighton of Loton Park, for the Fastest pre-1952 road car.

Hagley Car Club secretary Martyn Silcox, commented: “We are fortunate to have a wide body of enthusiasts who form the club and the sport itself is going from strength to strength with several events being well over subscribed during the season.

“It is also very good to see youngsters joining as volunteers and enjoying themselves and our capable band of officials and marshals have ensured yet another very successful year for the club.  We have retained our generous sponsors and are therefore looking forward to next year when we have major renovation work planned at Loton Park including the re-surfacing of the whole track.”

Picture 1: From left, Lady Diana Leighton, Rhys Jones, Jonathan Bibby, Tim Higgins and Lucy McFarlane.