Best-selling author to talk at Pengwern Books

A best-selling author will talk about his latest crime novel when he visits Shropshire as part of the national Independent Booksellers’ Week.

Vaseem Khan, author of the light-hearted Baby Ganesh Detective Agency series, will be visiting Pengwern Books, in Fish Street, Shrewsbury, on Wednesday June 22 at 1pm.

Khan’s first book in the series, ‘The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra’, was published last year to rave reviews.

The London-based author will be talking about his follow-up book in the series ‘The Perplexing Theft of the Jewel in The Crown’, published by Hodder and Stoughton last month.

Bookseller Susan Caroline said: “It’s great to be presenting an author who is relatively new to his craft and who is producing such wonderful work.

“I love this trend for gentle crime novels that are in the vein of Alexander McCall Smith and Frances Brody. Vaseem’s books are brilliantly written and a humorous absorbing read. I hope as many people as possible will join us for a cup of tea and an opportunity to chat with the author and learn more about his new title.”

Khan, who is also a senior manager for University College London’s Department of Security and Crime Science, first saw an elephant lumbering down the middle of the road in 1997 when he arrived in the city of Mumbai, India, to work as a management consultant.

It was the most unusual sight he had ever encountered. It stayed with him and served as the inspiration behind his Baby Ganesh series.

His crime series features retired Mumbai police inspector Ashwin Chopra and his sidekick, a baby elephant named Ganesha.

The first book opens on the day Chopra retires and he inherits two unexpected mysteries - the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no-one seems to wants to solve, and a baby elephant.

The plot of the new novel revolves around the theft of the world’s most famous diamond, the Koh-i-Noor.

Independent Bookshop Week (IBW) is a campaign run by the Booksellers Association and its members to celebrate independent bookshops on the high streets of the UK and Ireland. This year's IBW is taking place June 18 to 25.

For more information contact Susan Caroline at Pengwern Books on 01743 232236

Section: